DIY frame Makeover

I see so many before and afters….before

Of course I said I can do this myself. I’d like to say that I up-cycled this.  It was a perfectly nice frame when I found in a ‘special’ aisle at Hobby Lobby, but I thought I could add a little ‘creative twist’….. and make it ever more special!!

tweek 004 copy

The pink was too bright, and it didn’t really express the grand occasion that was being celebrated.  I added a few coats of Acrylic black paint to the entire frame. I knew that I would be covering it with paper and mod podge, so it didn’t have to be perfect!

frame

After painstakingly waiting for the paint to dry ( I am very impatient!!!)… I found the patterned papers that fit my shabby chic theme in my stash and pieced and mod podged the top part of the frame and the sentiment area.  I let the layers dry so that I had a good coating.

bows

Then using the computer, I created a few personalized sentiments and placed them inside the frame.  On top I added some embellishments of a silky black flower, rosettes made from a re-cycled book, a fun page clip that allow the sentiments to be interchangeable (you could even clip another picture in that spot and make it a 3hree for) and finished with floppy seem ribbon tied up in a beautiful bow.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

