Just One More Chapter!

The more that you read
The more things you will know
The more that you learn
The more places you’ll go ~ Dr. Seuss

book2 003Here is one of our family’s favorite places to go… our local library.

I must be on the right track for LIFE’S simple pleasures, because yesterday in our local newspaper, one of the columnist (assistant news editor) wrote a whole piece about her being a fan of libraries.  I can’t say I like the title of her piece “Libraries come out of their shelves”… huh?

book2 001One of the first things our family did when we moved to a new town was wait for our first utility bill (who hoo) that showed our proof of residency, and then we ALL went to get our library cards.  We have been astounded meeting neighbors and friends who never graced their presence at their local library. There is so much yummy goodness at the library, and it’s all FREE!  Simple and FREE!

As you can easily tell, Week #5 ~ LIFE’S simple pleasures —> books, has been an easy topic for me to share.

There is so much to write about… book reviews, book clubs, book lists, book stores, e-books, fiction, non-fiction, self-help, mysteries, cook books, classics, fairy tales, beach reads, biographies…

Reading give us some place to go when we have to stay where we are ~ Mason Cooley

book 003I love the fact too, that I can clip my library card to my key chain… CLPL.  No more searching between the car seats to find where I dropped  my card when it fell off the pile of my new reads.

There was a small controversy about these key chain cards that I thought was quite amusing… it wasn’t directly related to a library card, but the fact that some people carry around so many store discount cards… big brother is certainly watching all our purchases made with these cards… everything can easily be checked… even which books you like.

Oh, by the way, I get the fact that some people love to buy books.  I am totally on board with that.  If you scroll down a few posts, you’ll see that I highlight two authors, who if friends and family didn’t purchase their books initially… they wouldn’t have an income.  Some people reserve their books on-line and pre-order.  Some people scour thrift shops and garage sales to stock their own personal libraries.  I, on the other hand, am a huge fan of borrowing books from my local library!

LIFE’S simple pleasures —-> books

All my profound quotes listed in my blog posts about books can be found by doing a search on Pinterest.

BOOKFESSION: <— love that word.  Bookworms will rule the WORLD as soon as we finish one more chapter!

Leave a Reply

