You Left Off Here —> “X”

BOOKFESSION: Never judge a book by its movie.

mark1The book to read is not the one that thinks for you but the one which makes you think ~ Harper Lee

I just found that quote, and it makes me a little happy!  I am in a book club and recently read the classic To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. I thought it was a wonderful book and it was fun to get lost in the world of young Scout and her daily adventures with her brother Jem and friend Dill.  A good book will draw you in, and somehow leave you a bit sad and empty when you finish the last page!

mark2My creative greeting spin on this post was the bookmarks I made for the members of our little club.  Inside each card was a quote from the book, as a prompt to continue our discussion about the story and the characters and the writing prose of Harper Lee.   On the right edge was a tear off portion that could be used as a bookmark.

Little things that come together like that make me giddy and happy.  Bookmarks are fun, but too often some of us use the receipt of the library checkout or one from purchase of the book, (or a scrap of paper, post it note, gum wrapper, turn the corner down… ) because of convenience!

Week #5 – LIFE’S simple pleasures —> books

Until I feared I would lose it, I never loved to read. One does not love breathing. 
―    Harper Lee,    To Kill a Mockingbird

Okay, let’s see if we can combine all of January’s simple pleasures, I didn’t even think it would be possible… but as the snowflakes fall outside, with your favorite beverage next to you, put your fuzzy socks up and read a great book by the cozy fireplace!

Oh, and the over achiever in me could add my special verbs to the mix DO52… as the snowflakes begin to lighten their decent to the earth,  I mix my special type of Chai tea in my beverage mug, and slowly move my fuzzy socked feet up on the ottomon, while I support my book under the cozy blanket, I sit and reflect on my day, as the newly stoked  fireplace spills out with warmth.

And yes, I have too much time on my hands! ~  Now go, brighten someone’s day!!!  Peggy

Tags:

Leave a Reply

