Stuffed with Fluff

She could see no good reason to act her age.

I like teddy bears!

Maybe I should just change that and admit, I ♥  teddy bears!  In retrospect,  I am surprised how much these cuddly childhood companions have been a part of my life!

oldbearMy memory is pretty bare (ha ha)…  this bear above is one of my oldest friends.  I think my Godparents may have given it to me in the 60s… but I can’t find any identifying marks.  I have a sense they brought him back for me on one of their visits to the German homeland… Could I possibly hope it’s a  Steiff bears  (German manufacturer) who were a stiff competitor in the early 1900s when the first Teddy Bears were stuffed in a America. He has sentimental value, but sometimes it’s kind of exciting to think maybe if I keep this ‘forever’ it might be worth something!

In Week #6 ~ LIFE’S simple pleasures…. I’m talking about Teddy Bears. “Sometimes” said Pooh, “the smallest things take up the most room in your heart.” 

Who doesn’t hold a plush Teddy Bear close to their heart and give it a little warm squeeze?  Who doesn’t take a tiny stuffed bear and bop it on a child’s nose and dance it around saying ‘here comes the bear’.

poohbear

I even have a few favorite Poohs.  This one is a puppet.  He is so dang cute!  I guess I’m very lucky that some of these simple pleasures, my husband lets me collect a few to leave on display (it’s really a dusty shelf in the basement)…they always bring a smile to my face.

At one point in time I even thought about naming our oldest Christopher… like Poohs’ friend.  You know how I love a play on words…. Christopher Robins(on)…. but I didn’t want him to be called Chris….

If the person you are talking to doesn’t appear to be listening, be patient.  It may simply be that he has a small piece of fluff in his ear ~ Winnie the Pooh

A.A. Milne has such wonderful stories with Pooh and his friends.  The quotes are so simple, yet powerful and full of meaning.

toybear

Do you know this bear?  It’s Lots-O-Huggin’ Bear from Toy Story.  A whole trilogy of movies about Toys that come to life and bring happiness to children. Stay tuned… some day I may highlight my Toy Story collection, but that’s a whole ‘nother story!

Valentine’s Day is coming up!  I saw bins at Wal-Mart full of stuffed, plush and cute TeddyBears… the gift that symbolizes love ♥.  Personally, I have enough Teddy Bears… but I can still think they are one of LIFE’S simple pleasures!

Why do I leave the zip of my bag a little open?  So that my bear can breathe, of course!

PS:  darn, I know I should always carry my cell phone with me, mainly for the photo opportunities… but yesterday on my walk, I saw 3 perfect snow angels….if you go search for Week #2… I write about snowflakes.   As part of my testiment… or journey into 2013… I can go re-visit something I have discovered and build on that pleasure…snow angels, how simple!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

