C is for Cookie

…that’s good enough for me!

cookie 001

Week #9 – LIFE’S simple pleasures – cookies

Oh, there could be so much to say about cookies being a simple pleasure.  

Everything in moderation, of course. 

I’m toying with the fact that this simple pleasure in LIFE could go in many directions… my first thought for this topic of Week #9 was baking.  Making things from scratch, baking something special for a holiday event, wonderful smells in the kitchen, teaching the kids the difference between a tbl & tsp, browsing through cookie cook books, milk & cookies, smart cookies, fortune cookies, tough cookies… today it’s a yummy peanut butter cookie with white chocolate drizzle.

This is from my Betty Crocker’s Cookbook: Peanut Butter Cookies
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 butter or margarine, softened
1/4 cup shortening
1/2 cup peanut butter
1 egg
1-1/2 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt

Mix sugars, margarine, shortening, peanut butter and egg.  stir in  remaining ingredients.  Cover and refrigerate at least 3 hours.  Heat oven to 375.  Shape dough into 1-1/4″ balls.  Place about 3 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet.  Flatten in crisscross pattern with fork dipped in flour.  Bake until light brown, 9-10 min.  Cool 2 min; remove from cookie sheet.  About 3 dozen  I then drizzled melted white chocolate on cooled cookies.

housesSorry, a little blurry picture, but this is a greeting card I made, approx. 4″H x 8-1/4″ w.  I really love this technique of paper piecing together the houses with mod podge and then adding the blues/greens/red and honey comb… makes this a country ♥ art feel.   And what could be better… a nice ‘homey’ greeting with some freshly baked peanut butter cookies!!! Yum!

I don’t always change my internet settings, but when I do I enable my cookies!!! Love it!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

