Enjoy the View

When you are out on a limb, the whole world is at your feet.

bluebirdIn Week #11 – LIFE’S simple pleasures, I am exploring the variety of birds that visit my back yard.

Yesterday I mentioned how ‘noisy’ they were on my morning walk through my neighborhood. Today I will show you what I see most mornings while sitting at my kitchen table, enjoying a nice cold Iced Coffee with fuzzy socks on my feet*. (*A few of my simple pleasures that I have already highlighted here on my blog).

feeder1The birds around our house are a bit plump it appears.  They are fed quite well by my dear husband.  Although the above bird is not tiny, he blends in well with his surroundings.  Our winter, like all weather has been quite strange.  We went over 335 days without measurable snow.  And then when the snow fell, we got 5-8″, mostly of heavy wet stuff.  17th snowiest February or something like that!  I love how the snow sits on the branches, with the bird!

feeder2I don’t know much about birds.  A bird is a bird, right?  But we think that the ones who come visit our bird feeder are House Sparrows.  House Sparrows are noisy sparrows that flutter down from eaves and fencerows to hop and peck at crumbs or birdseed.

feeder3I tried to get pictures of the pretty Cardinals, but I tired standing still on a kitchen chair to get a view above the window screens.  They certainly are fun to watch every day, however, they make a grand mess which attracts our local squirrel friends!

feeder4Well, I guess that’s better than this article I just saw…

MONTPELIER, Vt. (AP) — The Vermont  Fish and Wildlife Department is urging people to take down their bird  feeders to avoid attracting hungry bears emerging from their winter dens.

If you find yourself out on a limb, have a seat, enjoy the view.

 

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

